Happy Gaudete Sunday

Today marks the third week of Advent and we rejoice!

The homily I heard stuck with me. Father talked about False Messiahs. He asked us to look at things in our life and answer the following questions:

Does it promise to complete us emotionally and that we will endure no more sorrow?

Do we get irrationally angry when we don’t receive the emotional completion we were promised?

Does it tell us to avoid suffering (our crosses) at any expense?

And then Father pulled out a potential False Messiah I never previously considered – an idealized personal identity. The perfect creative missionary spirit I want people to see me as means nothing if it doesn’t turn people to Christ.

The joy of the Christian is we have found the Messiah.

Ultimately, we each have to face our False Messiahs and we should follow John the Baptist’s example… “I am the voice of one crying out in the desert, ‘make straight the way of the Lord.”

One thought on “Happy Gaudete Sunday

Leave a comment